courthouse photo

Texas Statutory Probate Courts

In Texas there are 19 statutory probate courts in 10 counties in Texas. The Statutory Probate Courts are special courts in large metropolitan areas in Texas and have jurisdiction over their respective counties probate matters, guardianship cases, and mental health items. They also have expansive jurisdiction to transfer virtually any civil matter which is related to an estate from the district, county, or statutory court in which the matter was filed, to the Probate Court in which the estate is pending. See Tex. Estates Code Section 34.001. The following are public links to the court sites: